Network for Youth in Transition


Registration is now open for World Summit Youth Awards 2011 that are open to young people (under the age of 30 years from any of the UN member states) that have developed any sort of innovative project or product using information technology aimed at helping their community.

You may be a developer of website or mobile apps, e-content writer, journalists or writer, application designer, technologist or anyone contributing to address poverty, protecting the environment, sharing knowledge and empowering young people.

If the answer is yes, then opportunity has come your way in getting your efforts recognized in the form of WSYA 2011 Award.

WSYA Award Highlights

The Youth Award is not a cash award. The reward for winners is to be recognized on a world stage, to be invited to the winners’ events, to be able to connect with each other and discuss with renowned experts in the field of ICT for Development. Last year, winner’s events took place in New York, USA.

The WSYA selects and promotes best practice in e-Content. It demonstrates young people’s potential to create outstanding digital contents and serves as a platform for people from all UN member states to work together in the efforts to reach the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

These Awards are offered in six categories:

1 – Fight Poverty, Hunger & Disease

2 – Education 4 All

3 – Power 2 Women

4 – Create your Culture

5 – Go Green

6 – Pursue Truth

The project or product may be in any of the official languages of candidate’s country.

Organizers of the Award

The WSYA is organized as a follow up activity of the World Summit on Information Society and its action plan towards the year 2015. The Youth Award is organized by the World Summit Award Network for the fourth time after 2005, 2009 and 2010. It is promoted in all UN member states through the networks of the World Summit Award (WSA) the UN Global Alliance for ICT, other participating UN Organizations and Agencies, governments and NGOs, youth organizations and all those committed to making a real difference in the achievement of the MDGs.

The WSYA Team is based at the International Centre for New Media (ICNM), an independent non-profit organization based in Salzburg, Austria.

Tentative last date for getting registered for this award is Mid July, 2011

For further information, please visit the link.

Views: 210

Reply to This


  • Add Photos
  • View All

© 2018   Created by Saji Prelis.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

Google+ Google+